December 4, 2021

Click On Heart!

One Click Only

Magnet Recognition Provides Benchmark for Nursing Excellence

Magnet Recognition Provides Benchmark for Nursing Excellence

Twenty years ago, the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) implemented a pilot Magnet Recognition Program. Developed with the intention of recognizing hospitals and health care organizations that provide nursing excellence, the Magnet program would also collect and assess information about successful nursing practices and strategies. These could be built into education and certification programs.

The Magnet Recognition program has evolved into a benchmark for EKG Technician Online quality that consumers can expect from a health care organization. In the 2009, 15 of the top 21 medical centers featured in the annual U.S. News & World Report’s list of America’s Best Hospitals were Magnet-recognized organizations. In fact, nine of the top ten children’s hospitals featured in that same report were Magnet recognized. In addition to quality of care, Magnet recognized hospitals provide a better work environment for nurses. In 2008, seven of the eleven healthcare organizations included Fortune Magazine’s 100 Best Companies to Work For® were Magnet-recognized facilities or have Magnet facilities in their system.

The list of 354 organizations recognized by the Commission basic arrhythmia certification online   on Magnet (COM) hospitals and health care organizations in 44 states and the District of Columbia, as well as four international entities; two healthcare organizations in Australia, one in New Zealand, and one in Beirut, Lebanon for their excellence in nursing service.

The Magnet Recognition Program is based on quality indicators and standards of nursing practice, referred to as “Forces of Magnetism (FOM)”. The source of these indicators in the American Nursing Administration’s Scope & Standards of Practice. The Forces of Magnetism are:


  1. Quality of Nursing Leadership
  2. Organizational Structure
  3. Management Style
  4. Personnel Policies and Programs
  5. Professional Models of Care
  6. Quality of Care
  7. Quality Improvement
  8. Consultation and Resources
  9. Autonomy
  10. Community and the Healthcare Organization
  11. Nurses as Teachers
  12. Image of Nursing
  13. Interdisciplinary Relationships
  14. Professional Development


In 2008, the COM developed a new model that grouped the 14 FOMs into five key components: Transformational Leadership; Structural Empowerment; Exemplary Professional Practice; New Knowledge, Innovations, & Improvements; and Empirical Outcomes. The credentialing program has paid off for nurses, patients, hospital, and the public. Some of the benefits found in Magnet recognized hospitals are:


  • Higher nurse compensation.
  • Better nurse recruitment and retention
  • A better competitive advantage for health care organizations
  • Improved working interdisciplinary working relationships.
  • Financial Savings for the organization, both in terms of cost savings and cost avoidance.